Memorial Day Treat – A Fun Twist on an American Classic

S’mores cupcakes!

I was looking around for a fun Memorial Day treat to bring to a BBQ and cupcakes are usually “my thing.” I found a recipe on Pinterest that looked too good to pass on. (original pin)

Image

 

I used the Dunkin Hines Triple Chocolate Cake Mix. I am usually a fan of Betty Crocker cake mixes but this had the chunks of real fudge which seemed to go perfectly with my S’Mores 🙂 

I made the cake mix according to the directions on the box. The only difference was that I only baked mine for 18 minutes and they were perfect. (side note: Not sure why, but I usually don’t have to bake my cupcakes as long as it says to on the boxes)

I got a total of 18 cupcakes out of my batch but sadly, two of them missed out on the extra fudge filling, but the recipe did say it would make 14-16 cupcakes. 

I let the cupcakes cool on a rack while I made the frosting (the best part – I LOVE whipped cream!)

Since it is pretty warm and humid here, I put my Kitchen Aid mixing bowl and whisk in the freezer for about 20 minutes to make it frosty so it would help the heavy cream whip easier. I poured the two cups of heavy cream into the bowl and turned it on medium speed. Once it was fairly stiff, I added 1 tsp of vanilla and whipped it until it formed stiff peaks. Then I added one cup of Marshmallow Fluff (fluffernutter) to the whipped cream and slowly folded it in. Once it was mostly incorporated, I put it back on the mixer and let it whip for another 30 seconds or so. 

I used a large pastry bag and my favorite icing tip but you could also use a gallon sized plastic bag and just cut the tip off. These are the bags that I use. 

Just pipe the whipped cream onto the cupcakes. Then sprinkle with crushed graham crackers and drizzle Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup on them. I put a paper towel down on top of my cooling rack and put the cupcakes on there to decorate for easy cleanup. 

Because of the whipped cream, the cupcakes should stay in the fridge until you are ready to serve 🙂 

I am using my new cupcake carrier for the first time – I LOVE IT! Thanks, Martha Stewart (and Macy’s)

 

Let me know if you try the cupcakes and how they come out in the comments below! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

