Here Goes Nothin’

Today marks day one of the Ketogenic Diet for Jordan and I. For anyone who doesn’t know, my husband, Jordan, runs an Athlete Training Facility called NorthStar Sports (check it out here) in Poughkeepsie, New York. Exactly one year ago today (totally by coincidence), we learned about the concepts of the Ketogenic Diet from NorthStar’s owners Jerry and Jasmine at a nutritional seminar they did for NorthStar athletes and their families to introduce and encourage healthy eating habits to enhance their workouts.

So what is this diet? A Ketogenic Diet is a high fat, adequate protein, low-carbohydrate diet that forces the body to use fat for energy rather than glucose. I would highly recommend reading about this diet – in the medical world, it is/can be used to treat epilepsy but there are a million other health benefits that come from this diet. **

Because we know the source of your food is key to the success of this diet, about 6 months ago we bought one quarter of the meat from a grass-fed, organic cow which we have been regularly eating. Jordan’s parents were kind enough to let us “rent” space in their extra freezer for all the meat we couldn’t store in our tiny apartment freezer.

I have never been a meat person. In fact, I can confidently say I don’t like it. I never choose to eat meat over other things and can say with 100% certainty that I have never ordered a steak at a restaurant in my 25 years of life. Growing up, I almost always chose veggies over everything else on the table and thankfully my mom always made tons of veggies and salad for me so I never had to eat meat – thanks, Mom! 🙂 So for me, this was a huge leap of faith.  I have tried different recipes with various cuts of meat and have been very pleasantly surprised. The meat has a different taste and texture from what you get in the grocery store and I have found it to be enjoyable enough to eat it on a regular basis. Over the the last 6 months, I have eaten more red meat than I probably have in my whole life, which is great.

After 6 or so months of taking on this ‘diet’ in pieces, we have decided to jump in with two feet and just go for it. We are giving it a month of going all in and from that point we will see how it goes. We know it will be more costly this way because we will be choosing all fresh produce, everything organic, grass-fed beef and free range chicken and eggs, nothing processed or pre-packaged and nothing with sugar (glucose, gluten, etc.) of any kind. These things tend to be more expensive than the mass-produced foods but on the other hand we believe that we will see noticeable change in ourselves in both the short term and the long run.

For those of you who are thinking about taking this journey with us, or are just interested to see how we are doing with it, I will post updates on here for you to follow along. I will do my best to post daily about our meals – how they are prepared and how we like them.

Today is day one so I will post about today meals after dinner tonight.

Stay tuned! 🙂

** We have spent a lot of time over the last year learning, researching and taking the concepts on bit by bit. We feel confident that it will work for us, but before you jump in, do some research on your own and make sure that this diet will fit in with your lifestyle and your needs, especially if you are taking various medications.

Leave a Reply

