Ketogenics – Day 2

Day 2 is done and so far we are both feeling good! Right around 4:00 this afternoon we both slowed down, both looking for some sugar but other than that today went well. So here is a breakdown of what we ate for day 2:

Breakfast: baked omelet & coffee. I made this yesterday and we both took a piece for breakfast. I ate mine with a little creme fraiche (sweeter version of sour cream) and Jordan ate his plain. It was delicious! I also had my usual coffee BUT this morning I added coconut oil to it. Sounds weird but it was surprisingly very good! I happen to love the flavor of coconut so it was great. I still added a little cream but no sugar. I think I can handle that!

Lunch: salads. I made one big salad on Sunday, just to make morning prep easier because I am not a morning person by any means. The salad has lettuce, cucumber and red pepper and this morning I added an avocado and some feta cheese. This is where you can get creative though. Any good, pastured cheese, meat (think leftovers from the previous night’s dinner, etc.) I made dressing from Coconut Vinegar (apple cider vinegar substitute), olive oil, and Italian seasoning. This is a usual for me, so I enjoyed it!

Dinner: crockpot beef and sweet potato stew. This recipe was really easy and anything in the crockpot is a win, especially on NSS workout nights! I made some roasted broccoli and of course, pickles for digestion!

Crockpot beef & Sweet Potato Stew:
2lbs stew meat
1 cup beef/vegetable stock
5 large carrots, peeled and chopped
1 large white onion, chopped
2 large sweet potatoes

Turn the crockpot on high and melt butter (about 3 tbsp)
Add the onions and let simmer while you cut the rest of the vegetables and meat.
Add sweet potatoes, carrots and meat. Pour in broth until the crockpot is about 1/4 full, or so.
Cook on high for 4-6 hours or longer if needed, until the sweet potatoes are cooked (soft) and meat is tender.

For a thicker stew-like sauce, coat the meat in coconut flour and brown in a sauté pan before adding to the crockpot.

**UPDATE: This is the recipe that I used for the roasted broccoli – I make this all the time. Its super easy and tastes amazing! I usually leave out the lemon juice and I don’t always use the Parmesan cheese, it really doesn’t need it but a little parm never hurt anyone! 🙂

IMG_0057

IMG_0052

IMG_0049

IMG_0053

Leave a Reply

