Ketogenics – Day 3

“This is great asparagus!” -Jordan

So this is our candy now, I guess. I don’t hate it 🙂

Breakfast: baked omelet, same as day 2. There is still some of the omelet left over from Tuesday, so again that is what Jordan and I each had for breakfast this morning. We both had coffee with coconut oil and cream which is still a weird texture but the taste is great. I’m sure I will get used to the oily texture.

Lunch
Sarah: I had my first experience with eating out since starting this journey. I had a work function at an Italian restaurant in Westchester. Carbs are unavoidable in Italian cuisine so this was interesting. I was a little panicked when we got to the restaurant and it occurred to me what was going on. They served a pasta course which smelled delicious but I resisted. Then came the salad which had a light oil and vinegar dressing (not perfect but it worked). I ordered eggplant over breaded chicken and fish which was delicious but of course, was served with a side of mashed potatoes, the number one source of starch/glucose and one of my top 5 favorite foods (ugh). Somehow, not really sure how, I resisted all of it and simply ate the eggplant and green beans (phew!).

Jordan: he had a salad today and added sardines and sauerkraut for protein and probiotics. Before you judge (like I did), consider the ingredients separately rather than all mixed together – not so terrible. And the nutritional value in each of those ingredients outweighs the yucky-ness 🙂

Dinner: for dinner tonight, I got chicken thighs, with bone and skin and marinated them in a little bit of my homemade Italian dressing (coconut vinegar, olive oil and Italian seasonings) for about 30-45 minutes. The recipe I used is here and the chicken came out perfect. It had great flavor and wasn’t at all dry. I also made roasted asparagus to go with it from this recipe.

I get 99% of my recipes from Pinterest… @sarahburke828 if your interested in others. I am a Pinterest addict so there is a lot of other things on there in addition to recipes.

So far this is going well. They say you will know when you have reached Ketosis and the hardest part is the first week or 2 when you are weaning off your dependency on sugar for energy. Stay tuned for more! And please let us know if you have questions or comments, we would love to hear from you!

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

