Weekend Update

I have learned that meals during the week are both easier and harder than the weekend. During the week, there is no time for us to eat out, which definitely helps with this diet but also helps the bank account. But that also leaves us both wanting to eat out and more realistically, not cook, on the weekends. By the time Friday night rolls around, the last thing I want to do is cook dinner.

That said, we thought we would try the diner for dinner on Friday night with friends. I ordered a Greek salad which is one of my favorite meals at the diner anyway and Jordan ordered a veggie omelet – both acceptable (but not perfect, considering the source of our food is a key part of the diet). I was just glad I didn’t have to cook!

Saturday was a little all over the place – I went to visit with some friends from college and Jordan was at the gym in the morning. We ate some salads for lunch in the early afternoon and then headed to the grocery store to stock up for this week on Saturday afternoon. I will post our grocery list in another post if you’re interested in what we bought.

Saturday night we experimented – I made a cauliflower crust for “pizza” which was *interesting* to say the least. Here is the recipe that I used. I am not a fan of cauliflower at all so I was hoping it would have less of a cauliflower taste than it did. I probably could have seasoned it more so if you are trying this, I would recommending increasing the seasonings from what is in the recipe. I also don’t think I got enough of the liquid out of it when I cooked it, so it never got crispy and we had to eat it with a fork rather than picking it up like pizza. Its always fun to try new recipes but some things just should not be messed with and pizza is one of those things, in my opinion!

Sunday I was part of throwing a baby shower for my awesome friend and former Maid of Honor so it was a busy Sunday for me. I went to her house a couple hours before the shower started and surprised her so she would have time to get ready before which worked out great (even though I think she secretly knew, the surprise was still fun! ;-)) The video of the surprise is on Facebook, if you’re interested. I digress… at the shower, I had some salad with a VERY little bit dressing (cesar), chicken marsala (not breaded) and eggplant. The food was delicious at Eleven 11 in Fishkill, by the way.

Sunday morning before I left for the shower, I put a whole chicken in the crockpot. I just seasoned it lightly and let it cook on High for about 6 hours. I love doing this when I know I am not going to have time to cook dinner or need some quick lunch ingredients. So for dinner last night, I cut up the chicken with some celery and all natural mayo and made chicken salad lettuce wraps. They were delicious! picture below. I love chicken salad! It reminds me of being a little kid and going to visit my grandma – she always had chicken salad ready for us when we got to her house for weekend visits and it was and still is always my favorite.

That brings us to Monday (already?!) –
Breakfast: hard boiled eggs – we made these over the weekend for a quick breakfast this week. They are almost all gone now though!

Lunch: salad (catching a theme here) I put left-over chicken salad, avocado and the usually veggies in my salad today and Jordan did the same.

Dinner: my plan is to make “tacos” tonight using lettuce wraps – stay tuned! … its another experiment and another excuse to eat avocados (if an excuse is really needed :-))

Thanks for checking in with us! If you have questions, please don’t hesitate to comment or contact us anyway you know how. We love to hear from you! and any recommendations on recipes or things to try are always welcome!

~Sarah

Leave a Reply

