Grocery List to Start Week 3

I am a creature of habit so I tend to go to the grocery store and buy the same things every week. This also means I tend to make the same recipes week after week. I have been making a concerted effort to try at least a couple new recipes each week which has forced me to buy some new or different things from the grocery store. You can compare last week to this week and see that the list is largely the same. I also had some things left over from last week, so I didn’t have to buy as much this week.

This week we went to Adams in Wappingers:

Produce:
red leaf lettuce
iceberg lettuce (for “tacos”)
red onion
yellow onion
tomatoes
asparagus
red & yellow peppers
cucumbers
bananas
parsley
cilantro

Poultry:
chicken – enough for 2 dinners

Dairy:
heavy cream
almond milk
creme fraiche
raw cheddar cheese

Other:
pickles
sauerkraut
crab meat
dried seasonings

I found a recipe on Pinterest for homemade, fermented salsa. The recipe was really easy and I learned about the fermenting process, which is not at all what I thought it was. So I decided to give it a try. We eat a lot of salsa and other than a little bit of yogurt and some pickles or sauerkraut, we don’t eat a ton of fermented foods which are very important. So I made the salsa last night and it is currently sitting in jars on my kitchen counter. If you are curious, check out the recipe that I used. It was very easy but my concern is the need for a steady room temperature. The temperature in our apartment can fluctuate as much as 10 degrees a day, so hopefully that won’t be a problem!

If you have ever made fermented salsa, or anything else, let me know! I really want to try pickles and maybe red onions next if this goes well.

~Sarah

Leave a Reply

